Skip to content

Straw Poll Results

December 1, 2007

As reported on the Washington Post blog, The Trail: a daily diary of campaign 2008

click here to go to the source

Rep. Ron Paul (R-Tex.) convincingly won a straw poll Saturday night at the Virginia Republican Party Advance, an annual conference in Crystal City that drew about 500 state party leaders and activists.

The poll followed a series of speeches by surrogates representing each of the GOP presidential candidates. Voting was open to any Virginia resident who paid $35.

Paul drew 38 percent of the vote after bringing in supporters from all corners of the state.

“It means we’ve got the strength to go the next step to take on the primary in Virginia,” said Dennis Fusaro, Paul’s national field director. “It shows our great organization. We won with a combination of people new to the process and the people who have been involved in the party a long time.”

Former senator Fred Thompson finished second, with 23 percent of the vote. Among his supporters in Crystal City was former Virginia senator George Allen (R), who told conference-goers, “Fred Thompson believes common sense is not very common in Washington D.C.”

Former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee came in third with 11 percent of the vote. Former New York City mayor Rudolph Giuliani finished fourth with 9 percent.

A Washington Post poll of Republican voters in Virginia, conducted in October, found Giuliani with an early lead over the rest of the GOP field.

Virginia’s presidential primary is Feb. 12.

— Tim Craig

These are the results despite the fact that Fighting Windmills, one of those “people new to the process,” was not in attendance. Please, no one make fun of me for learning more about how this process works. I just post what I know, what I am seeking, and what I would like to know.

This is my first post in the month of December. It seems rather ordinary. Yesterday I found out that a ream of 8 1/2 x 14 paper costs about $6 at Wal-Mart. I didn’t buy it. I’m thinking of just bumming a few sheets from someone who already has it on hand. I don’t need 500 sheets of it!

My daughter and I got our hair cut this morning and went to the bank. My husband played soccer this afternoon and we had supper together. My son fell asleep on the sofa really early. Thanks for coming into my blog to read my thoughts.

. . .

3 Comments
  1. December 1, 2007 11:00 pm

    Hi FW, will check out the links, thanks for sharing them. Hope Dec is great for you and your family. It is good to learn about straw votes, I bet most of us would not know the process. Wish you could have been there, but you know maybe one day.

  2. December 2, 2007 12:37 pm

    Well, that’s just over one cent per page, maybe you can ask Wal-Mart to sell you five pages from one of those reams. Tell them you’ll pay ten cents, which would be almost a 100 percent price increase. Should be worth the blank stares anyhow.

    So, the results of the poll tell us that 38 percent of Virginia Republicans, who are willing to cough up $35 for the privilege, who don’t mind the rush-hour traffic, and who didn’t have trouble finding babysitters in the country, prefer Paul.

    Good luck with your paper chase.

  3. December 2, 2007 6:50 pm

    Right. That’s exactly what those straw poll results tell us! 😆

Comments are closed.

