Skip to content

Selfish Christmas Meme

November 27, 2007

Hawk, of the blog Hawk’s Place, tagged me with a pre-Christmas fun meme.  Trying hard not to get weighed down in the mom-guilt induced by thinking of my list, I came up with some gifts that would ostensibly benefit my family and me.  I couldn’t think of things that would benefit only me no matter how many days I stewed.

What are the five gifts you would buy for YOURSELF this Christmas, if you had unlimited income?

My pre-Christmas fun wish list:

  • a house where the four of us each have a room of our own
  • in my driveway, a minivan like the 2008 Town and Country
  • in my yard, a japanese-style garden with an arched bridge
  • in my kitchen, Bosch appliances
  • in the room of my own, bookcases brimming with feminist books

I tag my friend Robert.

11 Comments
  1. Accountable permalink
    November 27, 2007 9:45 am

    The fully loaded 2008 Dodge Caravan is pretty sweet too. Also made by Chrysler. That would be on my selfish Christmas wish list.

    Also on my wish list would be time to be able to read all the books on said bookshelf! LOL. 🙂

  2. November 27, 2007 10:28 am

    Weird, those minivans seem exactly the same to me (an innocent bystander, not an insider by any means). I wonder why there was a “need” to make both of them instead of just one. I also wonder if they would last past 100,000 miles because I don’t know if I can trust a Dodge.

  3. November 27, 2007 11:56 am

    Welllllll if you had unlimited income you wouldn’t care if the van made it to 100,000 miles. You’d just buy another one.

    P.S. All mini-vans look the same to me too.

    On my wishlist, you can’t buy it with $$$ so I’m not sure it counts. It would be TIME, more TIME. I would also like more physical and mental ENERGY to use in that time.

    If it had to be tangible I wish wish for more “lush” grass in our yard…someone to kind of babysit it cuz we sure can’t make it grow like it’s supposed to after the lanscapers leave.

  4. November 27, 2007 12:05 pm

    I’m pretty sure I would still care.

    LOL @ wishing for more time. That Ben Franklin, always so quotable. Which is why I would still care about the quality of my car even if I had a lot of money.

  5. November 27, 2007 5:42 pm

    Love that van. I think the Chrysler is usually a little more upscale and more expensive than the Dodge. I know people that have bought both and think the Chrysler is light-years ahead on quality, but I’ve owned a Dodge and liked it just fine.

  6. November 28, 2007 8:20 pm

    I have a hard time knowing the difference between many of them. I have heard the Town and Country is great! I just know I would like to be up high so I don’t get lost between 2 big SUV’s or vans. I would like it to be roomy and of course have all the bells and whistles..And I would like the gas for it to be reasonable..lol!

    I too, love books, would love some great bookcases for them and then I would like to have my room not only have the above but doesnt a great fireplace sound good in your very own special room.

    Hope you have those things someday soon.
    Maybe I should play the lottery? lol!

  7. November 29, 2007 8:59 am

    Thank you, Angie.

    We had a Dodge Durango and I loved the feeling of being up high. But, alas, the cost of repairs and maintenance and THE PRICE OF GAS became too much to justify. I think it got about 10 MPG, so being up high was not a reasonable tradeoff. And being a Dodge, wouldn’t ya know it had transmission problems. It seems like Accountable is saying that Chrysler makes the new Dodge Caravan??? At any rate, I was just trying to pick a minivan (I could have just as easily picked the Odyssey or the Sienna) to wish for.

    A fireplace would be nice in that room!

  8. Robert Hester permalink
    December 8, 2007 11:50 pm

    Oh cool idea – just now saw this! Check my blog…I’m going to fill out my list!!!

  9. December 9, 2007 12:28 am

    Hey Robert. I was beginning to wonder when you were going to notice that I had tagged you! Hahaha. Thanks for coming by.

  10. Hawk permalink
    December 11, 2007 1:23 pm

    A very good list. Thanks for joining in this little reveals. They can get on your nerves a bit, but oh what fun!

    Full of ‘feminist books’ eh? Hmmm…I wonder…I do bet you are a pistol. Yeah, I think so.

  11. December 12, 2007 4:44 pm

    Thanks, Hawk. My reading list is long. I usually fill my bag at the library with children’s books. Just last week it occurred to me to stick some books for myself into the bag. I’m always trying to figure out how to be myself and I think reading is a big part of it.

Comments are closed.

