Skip to content

Unknown Tidbits Meme

November 26, 2007

Brian, of the blog In Repair, tagged me today.  Here are the rules of this particular meme: Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog.  Share 7 facts about yourself.  Tag 7 random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs.   Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

1. Memes make me uncomfortable in that they remind me of chain letters and forwarded emails, but I guess they are a little cooler than that.  I can’t stop silently mispronouncing meme because meme is a word that my husband taught me to sing to our babies in Spanish to lull them to sleep.
2. I think it’s great that Ron Paul and Dennis Kucinich have both been called “quixotic” and I see them as similar in some very important ways.  I would vote for either of them ’cause I’m foolish like that.
3. I don’t know how to wash a pacifier.  I always get soapy water inside them.
4. My 10 year (high school) class reunion was last Friday night.  I had a good time.
5. Last year I threw away my teddy bear that had been with me (even at college, to Peru and to Japan) for 27 years.  I put him in the garbage.
6. I wish I could watch animal documentaries on a big ass high definition television (in a big ass living room in a big ass house).  Then again, I see benefits in not having that privilege.
7. I fear my husband would kick my ass if he knew about this blog.  And I don’t mean this post.  I mean this blog.

And on that note, I hereby tag the following friends:

Suz at Large

Mrs. Metaphor

Mercedes

Accountable

the Canvas Grey

Krysti

Jypsi

22 Comments
  1. November 27, 2007 7:22 am

    Hey chicadee! Thanks for the tag. I am currently working on this now-may have to finish tonight. Anywho-what if you tagged some of the ones I would tag-since we are all buddies? Can I tag some of the same ones too? Have a great day!

    WOOF!
    Mere

  2. Accountable permalink
    November 27, 2007 7:52 am

    Funny thing is, I already have a post like this started that I never posted! ! HAHA!!! Now I need to Tag a couple people.

  3. Accountable permalink
    November 27, 2007 7:53 am

    oh, I still have my stuffed tiger & Thumper that I’ve had for about 30 years. NO WAY will I ever give them up! How did you feel when you did that?

  4. November 27, 2007 8:04 am

    Mere, diffuse the meme as best as you can. 😛 Thanks for participating! I hope you have a great day too!

  5. November 27, 2007 8:11 am

    Accountable, I think I did it under the influence of postpartum hormones or generalized cabin fever. It was a crazy streak I went through. I feel bad about it.

  6. November 27, 2007 10:26 am

    OMG, your husband doesn’t know about this blog? 😆

    Love the list!

  7. November 27, 2007 10:36 am

    I know Brian, isn’t that funny/sad/scary? This is typical of how we (my DH and I) operate in our strange mating.

  8. November 27, 2007 5:37 pm

    My partner know about mine and reads it regularly. Most of my friends also know about it, which is somewhat of a bummer when I feel the need to vent about something. There’s something to be said for anonymity. 😉

  9. November 28, 2007 1:56 pm

    I think I am afraid that if I tell him about it I will therefore be admitting that a married person has to check to see if something is okay before posting it, whereas an unmarried person would not have to check with anyone. So it would be like asking my husband, is it okay with you if I exist? or I’d like to matter and have my say, would that be okay with you?

    That’s why I love Bianca’s “about” page: http://biancabean.wordpress.com/about/

    I am really struggling with how I feel and I am happy to meet people who are willing to bear with me on-line. I guess my blog serves as a room of my own. I don’t know that it’s fair to invite everyone over to my room except my husband, but that’s basically what I am doing. I will eventually invite him over too.

  10. November 28, 2007 3:42 pm

    Okay Miss Windmills, I need your support. Go comment on my blog please. 🙂

  11. November 28, 2007 4:47 pm

    🙂 Done.

  12. thecanvasgrey permalink
    November 29, 2007 9:12 am

    I’m going to try to get to this, hopefully this weekend!

  13. Accountable permalink
    November 29, 2007 12:41 pm

    I ws thinking about your last one. If my hubby knew that I blogged, he’d have a coniption fit too. He’s doens’t like myspace/facebook or e-bay. He doesn’t like the fact that I participate on discussion boards as well. Oh well…

  14. November 29, 2007 2:18 pm

    Accountable, I had no idea you hadn’t told your hubby either. Wow, I thought everyone was going to come down hard on me, but it looks like I’m not the only one.

  15. karriew permalink
    November 30, 2007 6:32 am

    I used to share a blog with my husband, and I think it gave him a level of access to my thoughts that created real life problems for us. Even when I left and started the OWM blog, he would read and either e-mail me edits or proofread and leave suggestions in the comments. And when I wrote about anything that even hinted that he was ever less than completely perfect? Oh my!

    Needless to say, he is not controlling in everyday life, so his behavior online was shocking and highly annoying.

    If your husband does not know about this blog, I personally would leave it that way. 🙂

  16. November 30, 2007 1:11 pm

    Karrie, when you say, “it gave him a level of access to my thoughts” it makes me think of the NaBloPoMo cat. Hee, hee.

    Since blog actually means weblog, hence personal journal, these thoughts should technically just stay private, but what I crave is the feedback and interaction. Then my husband would get really strange about who I am talking to and where are they and what are their names and what do they want . . . blahdeblahdeblah. He isn’t satisfied when I say I don’t know who they are and I don’t know where they are (apart from the vague “they’re on the internet” explanation) and all we want is interaction.

    If I were making money by spending my time this way, then that would be a different story. He must think blogging or participating in discussions is going to lead to some sort of feminist revolt, but what he doesn’t realize is this interaction is part of what prevents me from revolting. This is my release and my expression of who I am. He shouldn’t have any say in censoring who I am.

  17. December 1, 2007 12:45 am

    I have thrown away meaningful things when hormones were crazy and I am a packrat! It is not an easy thing to do for me. I am so sentimental if you will, I keep a hatbox that I call my joybox full of old letters and cards from those I care about.

    I love the comment ‘level of access to my thoughts’. I personally think we need some things for ourselves.

    Some things ‘God love em’ hubbys just don’t get. They are too logical sometimes. LOL!

  18. December 2, 2007 12:44 pm

    I was shocked, not that your husband doesn’t know about the blog, but that he would be upset by the blog. Perhaps there are older posts, which I haven’t read, that make him look bad?

  19. December 2, 2007 6:54 pm

    My husband is Peruvian. Because of how he was raised to think of women, he is suspicious of anything I do that involves using my brain. He’s a work in progress just like the rest of us.

  20. May 16, 2008 10:18 am

    Wow FW!
    I love going back and reading these old posts! I have no idea why I haven’t done it before but I am now.

    I was really really really surprised by both the fact the DH didn’t know about it and that he would have a fit. But it does show a big difference in cultural thought. I think an automatic human response is to assume everyone is as we are. Which obviously isn’t true but yet… here we are.

    What a difference in worlds! Dan knows about mine and I will yell at him for NOT reading it. Not actual yelling but a ‘WHAT? You don’t even read my blog???’ kind of deal. I demand absolute devotion LOL 😉

  21. May 16, 2008 12:41 pm

    Well, in February I told him about it. He and I talked about how it distracts me and how he wishes I could concentrate better instead of wondering what’s going on in blogland. So I know he is right about that. BTW, he didn’t kick my ass, he just asked me to be careful. He isn’t interested in reading any of it, and he gives me zero ego stroking for anything having to do with it.

    Thanks for reading, Chris! 😉

Comments are closed.

