Skip to content

Buddy Wakefield

November 13, 2007

. . .

. . .

Buddy Wakefield opened for Ani DiFranco at the concert on Sunday night. He does poetry in a way I like a lot: very rhythmic, spoken yet almost sung, punctuated with gestures. He performed The Information Man, My Town, Convenience Stores, and Pretend. (I think that’s all, but correct me if I’m wrong.)

My favorite line from Information Man was, “This poem is too soon for you.”

My favorite line from My Town was, “My town is so cute that/Once, there were some brown people (*waves arms above his head*) Oogedy Boogedy.”

My favorite poem of all was Pretend.

. . .

. . .

The energy he inspired in the Asheville audience was indicative of why he has won the Individual World Poetry Slam Championship twice. Accompanying him in Pretend were Animal (playing the part of the albino monkey) and Chris Hanlin (explaining himself by saying, “Uhm, we’re on a budget. . .” because otherwise they would have hired a backup diva for real). It was neat because it showed that money dictated how authentic the performance could be and made the audience question that necessity. The part for a “pitch black woman” who “almost turns blue in the sun” could be played by a white man in times like these.

Check out Buddy Wakefield, an extremely talented poet who is changing the world.

. . .

11 Comments
  1. November 13, 2007 1:02 pm

    Shura fuusha; Shura kazaguruma san, hajimamashite!

    Indeed, it appears we have some common interests. I too, will return.

    Domo arigato gozaimasu!

  2. November 13, 2007 1:17 pm

    I thought so! But, I didn’t imagine we’d have Japanese in common too. That’s the thing about blogging. . .
    Bienvenido, Don Hidalgo.

  3. November 13, 2007 4:54 pm

    Your visit to my dark hacienda was most appreciated. You name, “fightingwindmills” possesses some curious symbolism which I find intriguing. Whether there is some undisclosed meaning to your interesting handle remains to be revealed.

    I am not unfamiliar with your avatar. It has been my intention to seek you out within the past few weeks because your name evoked a sense of inquisitiveness. Yet, as with everything else, life just got in the way and I was unfortunately detoured, only to pleasantly find you had discovered Don Hidalgo first. Now, how cool is that.

    I have briefly looked at your personalities through my reader and have taken the liberty to add you to my grandiose roll! LOL! Not so grandiose.

    You have a smart style in your writing which I find very nice. I’m already a fan! I’m sure we will see each other around about somewhere. Regard.

  4. November 13, 2007 5:12 pm

    “I am not unfamiliar” πŸ˜† LOL! I love it.

    I am a person who feels very deeply and I was accused of “carrying [other people’s] water” not long ago. I decided that was an okay thing to do, as long as I could remember to keep my sense of humor about it. I wrote a silly poem to someone I care deeply about and she didn’t write me or acknowledge my poem. I sheepishly realized she was like my Dulcinea and defending our lopsided friendship was the equivalent of fighting windmills as Don Quixote would. My handle fightingwindmills comes from that episode in my quixotic life.

    Thank you for adding my site to your blog roll and thank you for being so complimentary.

  5. November 13, 2007 5:20 pm

    I think he did “Information Man” in Baltimore on Saturday as well. Definitely “My Town”. I’ll try to remember more specifically on Friday! πŸ˜€

    I’m really thrilled I got a chance to hear him (and will again!), because I really liked him, and I don’t usually hear much poetry of any kind. Though the rhythms and the way he recited it was similar to ani’s spoken word/poetry that she does sometimes. I was predisposed to like him, I suppose!

    Glad you liked him too! πŸ™‚

  6. November 13, 2007 5:25 pm

    If he does Pretend on Friday will you please come tell me the name of the backup diva (the white dude)? πŸ™‚

    I think we were definitely all predisposed to like him, by being fans of Ani.

  7. November 13, 2007 6:12 pm

    You double-posted your reply. This too, I am not unfamiliar with myself! LOL!

    And, I see the Lady of Ambiguity has visited too! Yo, wassup camera lady?

  8. November 13, 2007 6:40 pm

    I guess I’ll let you make fun of me since you were so nice to me earlier. πŸ˜›

  9. November 13, 2007 11:14 pm

    FW, you are just da bomb! My return was necessary because I drank so much Cuervo Gold resulting from my excitement that you left a message, I totally neglected to watch the videos on this post.

    It was better for me to have returned in a sober condition. LOL! My vision was somewhat impaired (I think), but I can’t be sure. Must have something to do with the worm. Enough.

    This is my first exposure to this gentleman. He has great energy and I was pleasingly entertained. Abundantly. Thoroughly enjoyed both videos.

    So, now that I have made amends for not having paid any attention during my earlier visits, on some level, I feel like I have vindicated myself.

    Later…

    I won’t bug you anymore today. Promise!

  10. November 14, 2007 2:18 pm

    *snort*
    Yeah, you have to, uhm, watch the videos to get a feel for Buddy. At the concert he did the poems really slowly, too, so it was even better because the words sunk in. By watching him on YouTube, I get the impression that he tends to speak his poetry too fast due to nerves, but he did so well on Sunday!

  11. November 15, 2007 12:44 pm

    This post has been updated thanks to Buddy who tells me that the backup diva in Asheville was Chris Hanlin. πŸ˜‰ Love and Respect to you too, Buddy!

Comments are closed.

