Skip to content

Who made up that rule anyway?

November 9, 2007

. . .

. . .

“You gotta live light enough to see the humor
and long enough to see some change”
Pick Yer Nose

“Every time I say something
they find hard to hear
they chalk it up to my anger
and never to their own fear
Imagine you’re a girl
just trying to finally come clean
knowing full well they’d prefer
you were dirty and smiling”
Not a Pretty Girl

This Sunday I’m going to see Ani live in Asheville! I’ve been thinking about social constructs and acceptable behavior and I’m sure I will have a lot to report when I get back from the concert.

I get the feeling that Ani is talking about picking her ears and picking her nose in a metaphorical way. One is acceptable, one is not. It is a good metaphor for what is acceptable in regards to our sexuality and what is not. I’m thinking about public displays of affection in heterosexual relationships and in homosexual relationships. Certain behavior is shameful in public. Why are we uncomfortable witnessing it? Is it more shameful or less shameful if the couple is gay? I don’t think that people in homosexual relationships should get a “free pass” to show their affection any differently in public. On the other hand, I guess if there ever were “a time and a place” for that, it would be at an Ani concert.

Ani supports Dennis Kucinich for president while I might vote in the Republican Primary to help out Ron Paul. Dennis is actually GOING TO BE at the concert on Sunday. Good times. This could get weird.

. . . 

2 Comments
  1. November 9, 2007 12:43 pm

    Ani cracks me up…love it. You’d love my sister’s stuff. You can find her at http://www.localsrock.com

  2. November 9, 2007 1:17 pm

    Thanks for sharing your sister’s music! 😉

Comments are closed.

