Skip to content

Help me think of a T-shirt to wear to the concert

November 9, 2007

I have worn T-shirts such as “A woman’s place is in the House . . . and in the Senate” and “DARE to keep kids off drugs” to Ani DiFranco’s concerts in the past. So, what slogan should I wear on my T-shirt this Sunday?

I’m thinking I could wear a “I succumbed to traditional values” T-shirt or something like that. Help me think of ideas! Remember Dennis Kucinich will be there. Also remember to make it politically controversial so that my husband will have to step into the brawl and rescue me: the damsel in distress.

Be bold. Leave a comment!

10 Comments
  1. November 9, 2007 11:40 pm

    I think my brain is just plum tired, babe…I can’t think of anything good!

  2. November 10, 2007 12:01 am

    Hey, it’s okay, Mrs. I could just wear my apron to the concert.
    Or I could write “I can’t think of anything good” on my T-shirt.

    Would that be a metaprotest? I think Ani would go for it.

  3. November 10, 2007 8:48 am

    How ’bout “Status Quo” or “Subvert the Dominant Paradigm”

  4. Finn permalink
    November 12, 2007 7:53 am

    hi, how was the concert? I’ve only seen ani live once and that was too long ago, but what can you do, living in the middle of nowhere in europe where no one ever comes to give concerts…?
    I envy everyone who actually can go.

    have fun and let us know what the writing on the t-shirt read…

    cheers, finn.

  5. November 12, 2007 12:12 pm

    Hi, just discovered your blog, and I’m really enjoying it. Lived two years in Peru, my oldest was born there. Also a Ron Paul supporter. Actually, I think you should go with that “I succumbed to traditional values” T-shirt. Might provoke a riot. I’ll wear one too and go with you!

  6. November 12, 2007 12:13 pm

    No, I’ve got it. An “I succumbed to traditional values” *apron*!

  7. November 13, 2007 7:26 am

    Actually, this post was just to make fun of me. In the past I have thought a lot about what to wear to a concert so that I will look like other fans and therefore be authentic. But the whole point of Ani’s music is that each person has to be a little more like herself. So I just went with my husband dressed as we both normally dress.

    I didn’t see any political slogan T-shirts at all. Most people had folksy peasant-style clothes on.

    Ani wore a tank top and cargo pants.

  8. November 13, 2007 9:10 am

    I wondered what you ended up with…I’m very glad to hear that you followed your instincts (inspired by Ani) and went as yourself. LOL

  9. November 13, 2007 1:13 pm

    http://www.smartasscookie.com/poseur/

    I knew someone would share my sense of humor! There are T-shirts especially for poseurs!

    And what creativity at this site!

    http://www.threadless.com/catalog

  10. November 20, 2007 8:53 am

    Finn, doesn’t Ani sometimes tour in Europe?

    Rebecca, I am enjoying your blog too. Thanks for coming and introducing yourself.

    I think the “Someone Call the Girl Police” shirt from the RBR store would be a great one as well. Ah well, maybe next time.

Comments are closed.

