Skip to content

Davidson in Peru

October 17, 2007

. . . 

Looking out to the Andes Mountains from Machu Picchu in the year 2000

. . . 

I am so happy to have read about Davidson in Peru! Dr. Russell Crandall taught me a political science class (politics in the Andean Mountain region: Venezuela, Columbia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia) during my senior year. I admire him immensly for his passion and profound understanding of political science. He was developing a plan to eventually take Davidson students to Peru for a semester, and fall 2007 is when it has become reality. I wish I could have had this opportunity while I was at Davidson, but I can’t be bitter about it because the opportunity that these students (class of ’09 and ’10) have is theirs to enjoy and experience. I hope the Davidson in Peru program continues to be successful for many years to come!

The students have sent a report with pictures that is published on the Davidson webpage. They are having amazing experiences: staying with host families, internships, traveling throughout Peru, and studying at the National University of San Augustín. My summer in Peru, led by University of Virginia philosophy professor Jorge Secada, was wonderful and educational. The picture in this post comes from my trip to Machu Picchu with the UVa group. I know it isn’t fair to compare my 6 week stay to the Davidson program which lasts an entire semester. I just feel wistful about it.

Cheers to Dr. Crandall and others who made this program possible! If any of the participants in this program, Davidson in Peru, happen upon my blog, please leave a comment. It would rock if you all would blog about your semester. Hint, hint.

Comments are closed.

