Skip to content

There was this band. . .

October 9, 2007

. . .

. . .

Lay Quiet Awhile is a band I don’t know much about. They were on the Columbia, SC scene when I was not yet interested in folky southern music, and I didn’t hear them until I was in college.

I was looking for Danielle Howle on YouTube and I found this live performance of “Oh Brother”. I would post the lyrics because it is hard to tell what Danielle is singing about, but apparently the band has copyright issues and has requested the removal of all their lyrics from the internet. They are included in the CD for those who buy it, though.  She sang with the band Lay Quiet Awhile on their 1993 album Delicate Wire. They have since broken up, but I have such strong memories associated with the songs from this album. I especially love the song “All the Things,” which you can hear part of, if you click on the link. Enjoy!

Also check out Danielle Howle and the Tantrums’ 1997 album Do a Two Sable.  I love the song “Where Were You”.

One Comment
  1. October 30, 2007 4:16 pm

    I just wanted to comment that the guy I was dating in college who introduced me (literally) to Danielle Howle pronounced Lay Quiet Awhile so fast that I used to think it was Lake Quite Awhile. 😆 Remembering that makes me laugh.

Comments are closed.

