Skip to content

We got our Ani DiFranco concert tickets!

October 8, 2007

. . .

ani difranco photo by david atlas

photo credit

Last night I was able to convince my husband to buy us tickets to the November 11th Ani concert in Asheville. I am on her mailing list and she sent me the password to buy tickets to this concert before they went on sale to the public about a month ago. I waited until now because I am a procrastinator and because I am always hesitant to plan things like this. I could have gotten much better seats if I hadn’t waited until last night, but as it is we are in the balcony. One issue that caused me to hesitate is cost because we don’t have the extra money for events like this. I am a mother of two young children, so another issue that causes conflict is traveling (5 hours in the car) and needing to leave my children with someone else. My children will stay with my brother and his wife while my husband and I go to the concert. We will spend the weekend with them in Charlotte.

The last time we went to an Ani DiFranco concert was 3 years ago in Greensboro. My daughter stayed with my parents and my husband drove me crazy worrying about her. He wouldn’t let me enjoy being at the concert or being away from my daughter for the first time since her birth (9 months earlier). The night was so stressful that I actually punched him. But, we are willing to give each other another chance.

This time, Ani is also a mom. I am looking forward to anything she might have to say about motherhood. Her announcement of her pregnancy at the 2006 NOW conference was such a tear-jerker and I know that I am consistantly unable to make it through a concert of hers without crying. I will be emotional, but I’m hoping that I will not be so distraught that I will lash out at my husband again. I hope we will feel renewed and more aware of the love we have for each other. I hope that my husband and I have matured enough to enjoy the concert together.

. . .

One Comment
  1. October 23, 2007 5:16 pm

    Update: Whoo-hoo! Our tickets came in the mail and I’ve weaned my son to make taking care of him easier on my brother. I’m getting really excited about this concert!

Comments are closed.

