Skip to content

Share With Me

October 8, 2007

. . .

. . .

My children are not yet good at sharing.  It is not innate, so I must teach them to share.  We read books on sharing.  My husband and I model sharing in front of them.  We watch children’s television programs which instill the value of sharing.  But it is so hard for my children to share with each other.

Stingy, a character on Lazy Town who does not share, sings “all your feelings are mine” in this song.  More than a commentary on a child’s unwillingness to share, this particular line is a commentary on people who try to control other people’s emotions and emotional responses.  I’ve seen the results of this attitude towards other people’s feelings on some blogs recently.  With that in mind, I encourage you to comment on my blog.  Critique my writing or flaws you see in my thought process.  Your feelings are yours, not mine.  As long as it is constructive criticism, I can take it.

Lyrics:

This mailbox is mine
and this triagonal sign,
That blue balloon
The month of June
They’re Mine Mine Mine Mine Mine

Ziggy’s sweets are mine,
That birdy’s tweets are mine,
The city streets
Both of your feet
They’re all emphatically mine

It all belongs to me, everything that I see
North South East and West,
I caress it, ’cause I possess it.
I’m Stingy and it’s mine.

(And This Instrumental Break Is Also Mine.)

The floor and ceiling are mine,
All your feelings are mine,
You always knew it
That’s all there is to it,
It’s Mine Mine Mine Mine Mine.

That’s What I Said: It’s Mine.

2 Comments
  1. October 12, 2007 6:57 am

    Hey girl. I say your blog the other day and wasn’t sure whose it was and checked it out. Love it. I love this song. I’ve been so busy these last few days. Had a rough few days at work and about to have a family feud-one member doesn’t know yet though-lol. Glad you could join us with your blog. I have got to get bloggin with mine-I’m too busy commenting on others if I am on blogs-hehe. I’ll be singing this song today. TGIF! Have a great day!

    Mercedes

  2. October 13, 2007 9:10 am

    This song gets stuck on “repeat” in my head too often. LOL! How do you handle sharing issues with your kindergarteners in your classroom?

    I wish I could do “a post a day,” but it is quite time consuming to comment on the blogs that I like and maintain my own. Family feuds can be great blog material, so good luck with that! LOL!

Comments are closed.

