Skip to content

Naptime

October 8, 2007

. . .

my son strikes a naptime pose

. . .

A big difference between the way I treated my daughter when she was my only child and the way I am treating my son is that I let my son fall asleep on his own. My daughter used to require hours of pacing and patting in order to fall asleep. I was reduced to tears on many days. When my son was born I decided I would not make that mistake again, so I have never paced around the room with him on my shoulder or patted his bottom as he lies in his crib. He’s on his own.

I put him in his crib while he is still awake and give him about 15 minutes to fall asleep. If he’s not quiet and settling down within 15 minutes I’ll go get him and give him another hour to eat and play before trying again. Usually he goes for a nap around noon. Here is a picture I couldn’t resist taking. The position he ended up in is so endearing. They really are angels when they sleep!

7 Comments
  1. October 8, 2007 5:52 pm

    Ack….this is EXACTLY my story as well. My first child STILL has trouble getting to sleep while the 2nd two go right to bed…now the 4th, the youngest, he got a little more coddling, maybe because he’s the last, hm…

    At any rate, he still goes to sleep better than my oldest! I love sleeping baby pics…this guy here is a heartthrob!

  2. October 9, 2007 10:56 am

    What a sweetie.

  3. Accountable permalink
    October 9, 2007 11:09 am

    Very precious.

  4. October 9, 2007 5:26 pm

    He’s a mess when he’s awake, though. Thanks for your compliments. πŸ™‚

  5. October 12, 2007 1:39 am

    Absolutely adorable. I love the positions my son (3 tomorrow – ack!) falls asleep in. My favorite was the Frog: arms over his head, and legs splayed at 90 degree angles.

  6. October 12, 2007 5:52 am

    Happy Birthday to your son, princessedamame! Does this mean you’ll post the birthday party menu on your blog? My children both did “the Frog” too, when they were really little and super flexible.

  7. October 14, 2007 2:14 pm

    Too adorable. He’s Joe Cool! At naptime-IF the children sleep-I have to get pictures of the oh-so-crazy positions they sleep in. Some are too cute and funny.

Comments are closed.

