Skip to content

My Tattoo

October 8, 2007
tags:

. . .

here is a picture of my tattoo

. . .
Soon after graduating college, I got my first (and only) tattoo. The image was taken from my asian art college textbook. I wanted a tattoo on my lower back, but I didn’t have a clear idea about what image to choose. I knew I wanted something black and simple. I had seen people on television go into a tattoo parlor and choose a tattoo design from those available on the wall or from a catalog. The appeal of picking a design from my textbook and having the tattoo artist trace it just for me was that I would, presumably, be the only one with this tattoo.

I chose a winged dragon from the back of a bronze mirror that ancient Chinese placed over their dead. It is one of three shown in figure 15 on the example from the Tales of Old China webpage. I chose the one that appealed to me the most after considering the details of each one. Its wing is stylized and small. The tail is on the left and the head is on the right.

This tattoo marks my graduation from college and symbolizes my admiration of asian cultures. It was a way for me to express my sexuality by highlighting my lower back. Until this picture was taken, I had not gotten a good look at my tattoo. I had only been able to see it by twisting awkwardly in front of a mirror. My husband took this picture at my request 6 years later. I am relieved to see it and reassured that I do, in fact, like it on my body and not just on paper.

5 Comments
  1. October 8, 2007 11:52 am

    Love your “ink” babe….lol…see, now that I’m joining the tattoo crowd I can say stuff like that. I’m soooooo hip.

  2. October 8, 2007 12:30 pm

    Peer pressure getting to you, mrs? Your blog post about tattoos is the inspiration for this post, so the pressure goes both ways. LOL.

  3. October 8, 2007 5:54 pm

    Who me? Bow to peer pressure? Nah …. lol

  4. January 30, 2008 2:47 pm

    Thanks to Brian, I just learned that a tattoo on the lower back is called a “tramp stamp.” 🙄 That was something I probably didn’t need to know, but what do you think Mrs? Are you glad to count yourself among those with a “tramp stamp”?

  5. October 8, 2008 9:45 am

    Very cool!

    Oh oh … I have a tramp stamp too! A sunflower 🙂

Comments are closed.

